Is it just me or is that rude?

How I tell my stories is by setting the tone of the environment, tell the details, and leave you with a question. So here goes.

It was a cold and rainy Monday in March here in Maryland. It was the type of day when you feel uncomfortable in your own skin. Everything is moist, and making squishy sounds, and on top of that you can no longer feel your extremities.

So here I am waiting for the bus to leave Montgomery College and of course my fingers are paralyzed and cannot dig out the coins necessary. I finally muster up the strength to fight through the pain and find a seat. Now comes on the handicapped man and elderly woman who require a total of 3 seats. I never think twice to give up my seat to others. Well, as long as I know I have hand sanitizer to rid me of my germ phobia. An Asian young gentleman gives up his seat. An Indian young lady reluctantly follows suit after looking around to see if anyone else will do so first. I look around to see who else is left sitting. What do I see? Young black females and males.

Here’s the question: Well you already know what the question is don’t you? Yes. Yes you do. Is it just me, or are young black males and females just unnecessarily rude and manner free? I’m not racist but I do notice things in my community. It seems like the younger generation gets respect from their peers by disrespecting others. How do you feel about that? Please let me know. Lets start a dialogue.

8 Responses

  1. sooo call me an anus, but I never give up my seat to anyone. Unless I am sitting in the designated handicapped seats, the thought to get up really doesnt cross my mind. Mainly because I am a female. Every man on the bus/train under the age of 70 should be giving up their seat before I even consider giving up mine.

    However, I do concur that kids of all races, but especially young black kids have no type of manners these days. It could just be the normal kids’ thing of being mischeivious when they aren’t around their parents, but somehow; I have this nagging feeling in my heart that this generation is about to be like 57% failures in life….

    • @Meg: See that’s a totally different issue I cant’t wait to discuss. I don’t want to blame the music, but I have to wonder if there is a connection.

      We grew up llistening to hip hop and rap, but we also grew up listening to other music. I know if I say “Drops of Jupiter” or “Korn Freak on a leash” etc you’ll know those songs. So might that have had an influence on how we act? I can’t help but speculate.

  2. its true. in our culture we get respect from our peers by doing things that are normally viewed as rude and disrespectful. i notice it alll the time.

    • @lilacstarr: How do you think we are to remedy the situation? I like to point out the flaws in society, but when it comes to this generational problem, i am at a loss for solutions.

      When i was growing up, I was afraid to act out. I was afraid that I’d get in trouble with authorities, I was afraid to get punished by parents, and I didn’t think it was cool to act an ass in front of my peers. It wasn’t cool to be the “talkative, disruptive kid” in class. Mainly because everyone always wanted to learn and hated “that kid” who would interrupt.

      Now that kids don’t care, and their parents are so busy trying to work hard and keep the bills paid that they don’t have time for parent teacher conferences, strangers are left to be the surrogate authorities on public manners.

      i don’t know about you, but i know I’m not getting up to tell an overgrown Baby D what to do.

  3. Absolutely, this is a great example of something I feel as well. I’m what most, if not all, of my friends would describe as a jokester, but I never hesitate to display my home training in such instances like the one written about here. Growing up, my mother always told me, “Manners will always get you where money cannot” and that is as true a statement as has ever been heard in this young black RESPECTFUL man’s life.

    • @Korye: YES!!!! You listened to your parents. We all did. We respected what they said because we were the children. Its like that line from “Matilda”:
      I’m big and you’re small
      i’m right and you’re wrong
      And there’s nothing you can do about it

      But we’re breeding a generation of fatherless kids who haven’t been stricken with fear of parents or God so they will do any and everything.

      It’s a time honored tradition that boys and girls need their father. Period. Your father is your first experience or authority, morality, and law. Your mother is there to show you love, and be the example of what being loved feels like. Its unnatural for one parent to be both. So this new generation is out of control.

      I have to write a blog about this.

  4. I agree…and it’s really saddening….. I’ve seen many a young (black and otherwise…but most often black) person get laughs from their friends by being rude to their elders. I’m not sure when this became cool, but it really makes me wonder what type of adults they’ll grow up to be?? Any time a crazy girl can cuss out an old lady on a train…there’s a problem in society.

    • See, this is the thing I don’t understand though. In the video there are all these grown men sitting around while this crazy woman is in the old lady’s face. The person who steps in the middle? A young boy. If it was a friend of his doing this, he would probably laugh. However, when he looks at it from outside the box, he knows right from wrong. I appreciate him doing that. I am appalled none of the grown-ups wanted to stand up for the elderly woman.

      That video just upset and scared me. That girl was clearly more than a little off in the head.

Leave a Reply

